The New Hampshire House has narrowly passed a bill to decriminalize a person’s first two marijuana possessions under one-half ounce.
Republican Speaker Bill O’Brien abstained from voting, allowing the bill to squeak by with a 162-161 vote.
First offenses would be violations punishable by a $250 fine. The second would be $500. Subsequent offenses would be misdemeanors subject to a year of jail time and a $1,000 fine. Offenders under 21 could also be ordered to take a drug awareness program.
All offenses are currently misdemeanors punishable by up to a $2,000 fine and a year in jail.
Fourteen other states have decriminalized marijuana, according to the National Organization for the reform of Marijuana Laws, including Massachusetts, Maine and Connecticut.
Gov. John Lynch has traditionally looked unfavorably on such bills.
News Hawk – 420 Warrior 420 MAGAZINE
Location: Concord, NH
Source: Eagle Tribune
Contact: www.eagletribune.com/Contact Us
Copyright: © 2012 Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc.